Social Isolation

Published March 8, 2016 by helentastic67

Social Isolation 4

Social Isolation

Sometimes, I try to socially engage with people wherever I go. I do this at the places I go for appointments or the supermarket for groceries. No lifetime friendships, but connecting all the same because it’s how I encourage people to get to know me and see that I’m “Normal!”

At my local supermarket, my favourite checkout chicks have gotten to know me over the years. Even from before my disability.

On Friday, I encountered a newish guy in the Deli/Freezer area. He was restocking the dairy case with milk.

Now, for those who don’t know – Melbourne has had a heatwave the last few days and being in the freezer section of the supermarket is the place to be.

This is the perfect example of how I try to engage with people and retain my sass!

This guy was wearing a big jacket to wear into the cool room. I asked if that jacket was really necessary in this weather.

He tells me it’s for when he’s in the cool room.

I inquire, “What’s a girl gotta do to get in that cool room? He didn’t really reply.

I grabbed my cream and as I moved away I told him,

“I wasn’t trying to sexually harass him in the work place”

I saw he had a big grin on his face and I did a circular motion towards his smile and told him “I was going for that!”

Leave a Reply

