The Rash

Published July 18, 2016 by helentastic67

Rash 2

The Rash!

Trying to get to write about the thing and the thing and the thing, but I’ve been talking to a friend today about depression. So the thing can wait.

I suffer depression and anxiety. For me the depression has come and gone throughout life depending on the ‘shit’ at the time I’ve been dealing with. I imagine from 9 years of age and un-diagnosed at the time. And back then, shit just happened and you just got on with life. Keeping in mind that was circa 1980-ish (because I’m old!).

These days, my depression and anxiety has been the icing on the top of the cake on top of several other medical conditions.

But I manage to paste on a smile when I leave the house and I can problem solve like the best of them and laugh and joke with my friends (Carers).

It doesn’t mean I’m not depressed; it just means I cope better.

So, the analogy I used for my friend today who was sad that his depression had returned that depression comes and goes. It’s like that bad ex-boyfriend or that rash, it comes and goes…

There is away depression has the power to suck the life out of you. It creeps up on you and can appear without you even being aware it’s your new best friend.

I prefer not to write when I’m really depressed. Because it’s disastrous and you can’t see the forest from the trees and even common sense decision making is beyond me.

I prefer to put on some loud obnoxious music and not just to annoy my neighbours.

Music for me seems to charge the energy in my home. Then I start to get motivated to do things, cooking, organise, whatever.

So, that moves more energy and then I can see progress and then it’s an improvement.

Depression can affect people who have chronic medical conditions.

It can affect people who seemingly have everything positive to live for.

Sometimes, it’s that one shitty thing, moment, thought that can put people over the edge.

2 comments on “The Rash

  • Very true. I’ve lost count over the number of times I feel like I’m having a great day, and then all it takes it once comment, or a glance, or some minor criticism aimed towards me, and I’m back where I started. I also like that you highlight how depression affects everyone. I see news articles about celebrities who reveal they suffer from depression, and the comments that follow disgust me. People assume that wealth and power somehow make one impervious to depression. It’s part of the stigma that we all have a responsibility to fight against. Either way, great post!

    Like

  • Helen, God has blessed you with insight into your depression, and He will keep you through every trial He assigns you. As unimaginable as it is when you’re down, you are given this trial for your good.

    Liked by 1 person

  • Leave a Reply

