Auditory

Published August 8, 2016 by helentastic67

Auditory 1

Auditory!

Have been having many auditory issues of late. While my stroke/not-stroke has affected the left side of my body from my toes to my face, my brain still functions very sharply. I manage my own appointments and day to day stuff, I pay my own rent and bills and I negotiate much of my own services and whatever! My home is clean and tidy (mostly) and I may be one handed, but I’m always moving around the unit with something in my hand keeping everything in its place.

I am considered a high-functioning ABI! It’s because I’ve had no trauma, which is rare! I’m not saying I’m special, but I am “she says tongue in cheek!” High functioning for me is because I’ve managed to avoid trauma to my brain. No surgery (cutting) and my memory has remained intact. I consider I have a very good memory, long and short term. My mum would disagree, but she would be wrong.

But lately my sensory issues have made me a little fuzzy and it’s starting to bug me.

auditory-training

I can go out and do my own shopping, pay my own bills, do that ‘stuff’ and even reschedule appointments ‘on the fly’ if I’ve got a busy schedule or am early for an appointment and have a little wriggle room but it can all go to shit when someone’s around re talking in my left ear or distracts me somehow.

My concentration becomes harder to keep on track, my self-processes and coping skills can all go to hell in a second.

And no matter how much I plan ahead to have things go smoothly at the end of the day from that moment on, I’m going to get a migraine.

 

3 comments on “Auditory

  • Well, I thought I had a comment but I’ve been sitting here trying to put it into words.

    Can’t come up with any except wow and ow.

    It did shake me right out of my own self-pity for a stupid and, so far, hard to treat thyroid mystery with a bunch of bothersome symptoms.

    Thanks for sharing and also for visiting my blog Helen.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m sure your medical issues are no less important than anybodies. Just different. Its all about informing people so what we are dealing with in public or private is better understood & somehow easier to deal with and less isolating. Thanks for the positive feedback. Cheers,H

      Liked by 1 person

  • Leave a Reply

