VATT/Commodity!

Published September 16, 2016 by helentastic67

vatt-2

VATT!/Commodity!

Seriously, I didn’t make up this acronym! It stands for Voice At the Table Training. For which I’ve only been able to attend 2 of the 6 days. Don’t worry, people’s lives will not be at risk for not attending the other 4 days and there is no competency needed. The training is about how to be a useful “voice” when on an Executive Committee or a member of a board and NOT A TOKEN MEMBER!

I find I have great idea’s but no one wants to hear them. Anyway, more of that another day.

vatt-1

More important points to make right now. While at this training I was informed an American company (who shall remain unnamed because conveniently I can’t remember) is going to be getting in on making money from the NDIS and offering services etc, in Australia.

This company currently runs Prisons and Detention Centres in the States.

prison

WHAT THE FUCK!

Sorry, had to swear! You have to give me that one!

  1. Can they get their current businesses running properly first?
  2. Why are foreign businesses tendering for our services?

And then I recall Australian Government has already sold off land to foreign countries to grow crops!

And then (not in this order) they sold Australian Government owned companies like Telstra!

Yeah! That’s really paying off now isn’t it?

Which government party do we blame that on? I don’t know enough about Australian political parties to continue really.

So in the middle of my rant. I hope you get that I don’t want to be a commodity just because I’m a minority in the disability sector.

I am single.

I do not have family close by.

I cannot live with my family members.

At this rate, I will never be a homeowner.

We already worked out I will never have kids, right?

I will never drive again? That one is not in doubt…………………

But I care about the environment, I care about the elderly. Since, I will soon be expected to live in an Aged Care Facility!

Oh yeah! And while people with disabilities are no longer institutionalized these days in Australia. You knew, these ‘places’ known to house people with severe Autism or Mental Health issues that rather than deal with the behaviour of the ‘tenants’ (seems the wrong word) Too soft somehow, they put bike helmets on them so when they bash their heads against walls/floors, they no longer hurt themselves.

https://www.myskills.gov.au/courses/details?Code=UEE20711

SO, NO! THE AUSTRALIAN GOVERNMENT NEEDS TO HEAR ME ROAR!

I WILL NOT BE A COMMODITY TO BE SOLD!

Group homes exist for people with some disabilities.

group-home-1

And of one I’ve heard of, it houses 11 people who will attest to it sounding exactly like a prison or institution.

Recreational space under lock and key. The office not open to tenants to enter and lights on the outside all night.

Leave a Reply

