Botox

Published September 23, 2016 by helentastic67

botoks_allergan_ilac

Botox

I’ve had Botox! Four times for free! Ask me how!

Okay, this is how I like to break the news to people because the only thing people have heard of Botox being used for, is to pump in the lines on their faces to get rid of the wrinkles.

But people get it for other things.

They might get it injected into their scalp, armpits or even a woman’s bladder. http://www.webmd.com/urinary-incontinence-oab/news/20150515/botox-overactive-bladder

sweat-glands

The bladder, I’ve not heard much about, but the first two I hear it helps with perspiration problems.

Keep in mind, in no way, shape or form am I doing a sales pitch for Botox (botulinum Toxin)

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Botulinum_toxin

Hear me when I say this; it is the MOST TOXIC THING YOU CAN PUT IN YOUR BODY.

But anyway, I haven’t been lucky enough to want/need it for vanities sake!

I’ve had it out of necessities sake.

Twice in my arm and twice in my calf for what’s called Spasticity!

bent-wrist

People who suffer ‘stroke’ or ‘stroke like symptoms’ like myself will have an arm that won’t relax and straighten. In extreme cases, some people will have a hand that will not open.

Imagine what happens if you can’t wash or dry your hand. It can lead to other problems, like a stroke is not enough. Broken skin conditions don’t help.

They are very careful with where and how to inject exactly the right muscle for the best effect…

In the correct muscle in the arm, it relaxes other muscles lower down in the arm and ideally the hand. It’s ideal to have a good STRETCH OF THE hand to be able to work on the hand.

It’s every important to do a lot of OT at this time to maximise the benefits of the Botox.

Because after 3-4 months the Botox wears off and hopefully when the muscles that were ‘relaxed’ by the Botox wake-up there is a better balance between those muscles and the ones exercise have been working on.

You generally don’t have Botox all the time because you can build up an immunity to it.

I always like to use the example that one day all those faces in Hollywood will simultaneously drop. Sad face?

I might do a You tube demo to show what Botox in the calf is for…………………………….

injection-sites

injection-calf-muscle

 

4 comments on “Botox

  • Fascinating – I had no idea that botox was used for much beyond facial lines. New learning, but it makes sense that there would be “off-label” uses for almost anything science can dream up.

    I don’t have to imagine the frustrations and after-effects of not being able to wash face and handle other bathroom duties, etc. I had to endure it for several months after I was gang-mugged and my dominant hand was crushed — so I’m glad to hear that botox helps relax the muscles of your hand.

    People don’t think about how difficult long-term health issues are functionally, nevermind emotionally. Mine was a long enough term. Truly, I don’t know HOW you do it and stay upbeat.

    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to educate a world!”

    Liked by 1 person

  • A few years ago I was part of a trial to get botox on the PBS for all medical conditions. I do hate feeling like a guinea pig however its the only way I’ve been able to afford the things I’ve needed. My AFO & shoes. The NDIS will fund the things going forward I’ve been promised & still need. My humour comes from the place where if you don’t laugh you cry.

    Like

  • Leave a Reply

