Dumb Down

Published September 30, 2016 by helentastic67

ambulance

Dumb Down

There have been three occasions I’ve been in an Ambulance in the middle of the night to go to hospital and a third where my mum took me to hospital in her racing car, but that led to an aeroplane ride but that can wait!

Generally, anytime I have to go to hospital when it’s an emergency, I am feeling beyond ‘seedy’. My head generally hurts so much I’ve already taken every pain killer I can that should work and maybe a sleeping pill so I can try to sleep it off.

migraine-pain

If that fails and because I live alone, I might go to hospital so I don’t wake up dead the next morning, if it’s more than I think it is.

Once at the hospital and the customary poking and prodding and interrogation, I’m usually given a few more pills, oxygen and a warm blanket.

They usually let me sleep and the next day when the staff are in and before they release me they will do a C.T. scan to confirm their suspicions. And that is that, I just have some brain swelling/I did too much/I need to rest and sleep.

I love when they go to do the C.T. scan and to remind me (as if they have to) the difference between a CT and an MRI.

In case you don’t know,

“The CT scan is when you get rolled into the big donut or as I see it (lifesaver) and the MRI is the BIG TUNNEL!

ct-scannermricutaway

 

3 comments on “Dumb Down

  • It must be terrifying to be told you have swelling of the brain, but it sounds like they say that in an almost flippant way to you. I’m sure they do great work, but maybe when you’re always looking at brains you forget how special each one is.

    Liked by 1 person

  • Ah, brain-swelling. Was a result of my radiation treatment. But now, when I’m stressed, I’m tired, too much going on. Never ending. Just trying to avoid the Dexmethazone. I think Mum was a racing car driver in a previous life.

    Like

  • Leave a Reply

