Where to Start

Published October 17, 2016 by helentastic67

latte

Where to start?

It’s been maybe a week since I last put pen to paper and I’ve been busy living ‘Life’ as crappy as ‘Life’ is these days!

Oh! Stop press! My Latte just arrived and the lovely wait staff (he’s new) misinterpreted my visits here as me doing ‘WORK!’

Working in Cafe

Every Wednesday, I visit my favourite Café. Ideally I’m all blogged-out with nothing to write about and I might switch off and read a comic.

Otherwise it is good to have “Lunch” at a reasonable time for the midday meal!

Because from here I commence what I refer to as my “Punchy/stabby” day. That translates to my weekly Chiropractic appointment, followed by a tram ride back up to my neighbourhood where I see an Acupuncturist.

chiropractoraccupuncture

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I like meeting people here for meetings as they have gotten to know me here. I no longer have to explain my disability to the regulars and I now seem “Normal” to them.

But the new ‘young’ guy doesn’t know my past, my issues and just sees me here as a ‘Professional’. Having my meetings and writing/working on my blog!

 

 

 

4 comments on “Where to Start

  • I’ve never tried acupuncture and have always been curious. I’ve experienced acupressure, and once, at an ADD Conference, a form that applied pressure to a part of the ear that was supposed to help with sleep disorders. The nurse who was leading the charge had been studying acupuncture, “practicing” on herself and a seriously sleep-disordered son who was an eager volunteer. After they found the ear points, her son got the first full-night sleep of his LIFE. They were at the conference, hoping to collect additional data.

    My colleagues did observe that I was easier to awaken the day after the treatment – but it didn’t seem to have lasting effects (and I lost contact with the doctor and nurse who were struggling to obtain funding for a study). No potential for big money in this research for the sponsor, however – so unlikely, unfortunately.

    Even though I truly hate the capitalistic approach, given the state of my life as I struggle without capital through what others might term my twilight years, I frequently wonder if I was being naive prioritizing helping others, regardless of their ability to pay.

    Where is the balance? I wish I knew. “Helpers’ disease” seems particularly apt these days.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

    Like

  • My first experience with acupuncture they put the first needle in my foot in a spot I’m told is for stroke. I moved and could not relax. I now see a Master acupuncturist who assured me he would never do that spot because I’ve not had a stroke! Bless him. I get 8 needles these days. All on my left so they increase circulation. I’ve even been known to take them out myself when I couldn’t wait any longer to pee…….that night? Best sleep ever!

    Like

  • Leave a Reply

