Neuro – Part 2

Published November 18, 2016 by helentastic67

smiley

Neuro – Part 2

Oh, and it’s happened more times than I can count that there was a ‘student’ in the room.

nuero-1

So even though I could easily quickly depart, I usually turn to them and point out all the things they might not have picked up on.

I will lift up my pants leg and show them the AFO (Ankle Foot Orthotic)

plastic-afo

I describe where I’ve had Botox injected in both my calf and my arm and I tease open my hand and perform my party trick.

party-trick

Anyway, the goal of having that Neuro appointment and everything and be there on time. I wanted an MRI (Magnetic Resonating Imagery) for my left temple.

I had, had a fall although years ago, it had not been attended to back then. I had smashed my head against a wall. (Not on purpose) and at the time the shoulder had taken precedence.

I wanted my migraines investigated. As I imagined A & B to be related?

a-to-b-walk

And lastly, I threw the problem out of my pins and needles in my good hand!

Left, results.

No MRI – that query was ignored despite the suggestion that I had probably suffered a concussion of some sort.

The migraines? Drugs! I have filled the script but being dumbed down and feeling hung over every day is not my idea of a solution.

drugs

And the 3rd issue? CARPEL TUNNEL!

carpel-tunnel

That’s just all I need!

7 comments on “Neuro – Part 2

  • Hello Helen! Lol…students…gotta love them. When I was a medical student I always felt so awkward standing there…and yes…there would always be the patients who were awesome and would actually turn to me and teach me stuff because they’re so used to it (though no one has ever poo-ed a knot out for me)! 🙂 🙂 You’re awesome too! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  • Sorry you don’t feel you have been listened to. If it’s any consolation it’s highly unlikely the concussion would have shown up on the MRI anyway. They are brilliant tools but they don’t give enough details. And the wiring in our brains changes all the time as we learn so we are unique making it difficult to see if it’s “normal”.

    Liked by 1 person

  • The older I get, the more I understand the cliche my mother said quite often, “The squeaky wheel gets the grease.” When you’re feeling sick all the time, it’s hard to squeak. Those are the times I start writing down the symptoms. I can give the doctor a COPY of the list so I don’t have to try to remember. All of the doctors I’ve presented lists of symptoms to, and days/times when they are at their worst, have told me it’s helpful.

    Like you, I can sense in my own body when there’s a correlation between points A & B. I’m fortunate to have doctors who understand the importance of a patient’s intuition about his/her own body, but it took a lot of squeaking to find them. 🙂

    I went through a bout of dizziness that was so debilitating that I had to have one hand (sometimes both) on the wall in order to walk from one place to another. That’s on the good days, when I could stand without a cane. At the worst of it, I couldn’t use the left side of my body and it looked like I might have had a stroke. The neurologist diagnosed a-typical vestibular migraine on the left side. It’s a migraine with no pain..

    That was the correlation between points A & B that was found in my case.

    Liked by 1 person

  • Yes! I hate that quote! Although our version uses oil not grease. And it was in regards to self-advocacy. And there’s never down-time. No holidays. Never a day off. It’s relentless! Also, I’m a big fan of the lists. (My mum hates them!) however I just had mine over to my GP. And he goes through it all.

    Like

  • Leave a Reply

