The Good, The Bad

Published December 26, 2016 by helentastic67

the-good-the-bad

The Good/The Bad

There is a children’s book I recall reading as a child. I can’t at all remember what it was called but the story line and message stuck with me. It is literally a story about a little boy who gets into an aeroplane and flies up into the sky, then the aeroplane runs out of fuel. He flies it upside down and he falls out. And he falls out of the aeroplane and he falls in the direction of a haystack. But the haystack has a pitchfork sticking up in it. But it’s OK because he misses the pitchfork, but he misses the haystack also. But it’s all okay! Because he lands in a pond.

aeroplane

The message is obviously to teach the young impressionable minded reader that life is good and bad in equal measures.

Sometimes, it feels like only bad things happen and not enough good. In recent years, I’ve developed a disability, on the upside, I’ve maintained my ability to speak for myself (when people listen) and I can manage my own finances. I might not be rich, but I’m not starving and I’ve kept a roof over my head.

Sometimes, the good isn’t completely blow you away, amazing it’s little things. But those little things all add up to.

Here are a few good things;

  1. Winter in my house is a little brutal, however I can keep the butter on the bench and it doesn’t melt or go mouldy.
  2. I am not reliant on a man in my life! I might be single however, I’m not bad at being single. I can survive without a male presence in my life.

ONWARDS…

good-things

2 comments on “The Good, The Bad

  • Being thankful is so important.

    When someone says, “there are people worse off,” I think about the fate of people who can see and hear the world but are unable to move, show expression or speak. How miserable it must be not to be able to tell people you’re freezing or too hot, don’t like being fed through a g-tube, or that you’re going out of your mind sitting in a chair and staring at a wall for 8 hours.

    Liked by 1 person

  • Leave a Reply

