Carer v Family

Published January 30, 2017 by helentastic67

 

carers-1

Carer vs Family

It might surprise people but sometimes the difference and similarities between my family in a Carer role or a Carer as a Carer is polar opposites. I know, I’m yet to explain the unique dynamics of my family, but I’ll get there! I know, there’s so much I’m to get to, but other ‘stuff’ keeps being more pressing.

There are times my Carers are more like ‘Family’ to me than my actual family.

Over the years I’ve had much criticism from family, such as how much weight I’ve put on (accumulated/collected) in the last 10 years! Trust me, I know!

weight

My older sister did a course to be a Carer (not for me, but she has done it) and when she learned that putting on weight could lead to loss of independence, she was very concerned, but that’s not how it felt, being told I’ve put on some weight.

body-image

Mum likes to tell me too. But it’s often my Carers that point out in the bathroom mirror while I’m standing there naked, I have a waist and hips and a nice bum!

body-image-1

FYI, these are straight women and it really is nice.

The last 10 years has been particularly brutal to my self-body image.

critisism

2 comments on “Carer v Family

  • I am SO sorry to read about the criticism your family feels obliged to sling your way.. Angry too. Pardon my judgment, but it doesn’t sound to me like they are even marginally kind.

    Good for you for speaking out and letting the world know that comments about weight gain in *any* case – but especially when life became more sedentary due to elements that were beyond your control that were already making life difficult enough, thank you very much – are simply uncalled for and flat-out cruel.

    You may recall how much I don’t like the use of the “s” word, but SHAME on them for their lack of empathy, support and loving treatment. You deserve SO much better.

    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

    Liked by 1 person

  • Bless your cotton socks! My main exercise is walking. Not heaps every day but several times a week. A normal person should do 10,000 steps a day, and today I did 5,630. I couldn’t feel my left foot by the time I arrived home but still. Winning! 🙃

    Like

  • Leave a Reply

