Acquired Brain Injury Humour

Published February 10, 2017 by helentastic67

abi-humour

ABI Humour

I imagine most people with a serious medical condition or a disability will find some solace in humour.

I confess I love the term “Wrong”, because it adequately covers my type of humour.

I often have a quick wit that people don’t understand or appreciate.

The other times my humour is ABI related and completely “Wrong”, it’s how I like it.

Here’s an idea of wrong……….the one I’m okay with putting on my blog at least.

I sometime get hay fever. Luckily most years at Springtime I haven’t been getting hay fever, but the last time the conversation came up at an ABI Social group I was going to, I commented; “Yeah! Haven’t had hay fever for years, but this year I’ve blown my brains out!”

abi-humour-2

The facilitator looked at me a little startled as I am one of the less “Brain Injured people of the group.” So, I guess I’m saying I get held to different standards.

I stopped “What? I’ve been blowing my nose a lot!”

I give a frown and a bit of a shrug and move on.

There are times I refer to the other “thing” which also includes a reference to Jackson Pollock, but not today…

jackson-pollock

4 comments on “Acquired Brain Injury Humour

  • Love the Orange Person (not someone with a ghastly spray tan!). I will be looking at oranges differently now. 🐱 🍠🍌🍎🍏🍊🍋🍄🍅🍆🍇🍈🍉🍐🍑🍒🍓🍍
    Humour is vital, especially when struggling. I like the cartoons by Crip. Xo

    Liked by 1 person

  • Leave a Reply

