Growing up with TBI – The Confabulation Kid

Published March 27, 2017 by helentastic67

Mmmmmmm, I’ve been accused of having this!

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

Looking back on my life and comparing notes with others, I realize more and more how much my experience has been impacted by the TBI’s I experienced. I was a pretty wild child — hard to handle and harder to discipline. I tried to be a good kid, for the most part, but I got turned around a lot, and it didn’t work in my favor.

I had real difficulties with keeping facts straight — I thought I had things right, but I was turned around and/or missing vital pieces of information. And in the process, I often looked like I was making things up to get attention or just plain lying.

Head injuries sometimes result in a phenomenon called Confabulationthe formation of false memories, perceptions, or beliefs about the self or the environment as a result of neurological or psychological dysfunction. When it is a matter of…

View original post 1,415 more words

3 comments on “Growing up with TBI – The Confabulation Kid

  • Thank you for posting (reblogging?) this, Helen. I read his account and am grateful to know about this affliction (like you need one more thing, right!?). Understanding how people cope with really significantly limiting disabilities makes my limits seem minor. Whether or not you actually have this condition, I know you are motivated by challenge, and I admire that quality hugely. You go, girl!

    Like

  • Leave a Reply

