Public Attitude – Part 1

Published March 30, 2017 by helentastic67

Attitude

Public Attitude Part 1

I confess to say PUBLIC ATTITUDE towards people with disabilities has always annoyed me. Even before I had my disability.

I’ve been with a carer shopping at a local market. Said carer at the time was desperately in need of a hip replacement so I helped her lift my shopping from the shopping trolley to her car boot.

Attacking people with disability

A guy walked past with his two young impressionable children, his other half trailing behind and he decided to share his opinion that we did not look disabled and should not have been in a disabled car park. I pointed out to him we had the correct signage to allow us to park there and that it was approved by council in which I lived and my application supported by my doctors, you know the actual people with the appropriate credentials to make such decisions.

Ironically, he was a parent who had taken his kids to the local pub close by before midday and no one thought to work out if he was qualified to be a parent.

Dont judge disability

3 comments on “Public Attitude – Part 1

  • I’ve had to do similar when people smugly state their opinion. No one knows what another person is going through. Sad to say, we all make judgements like that about all different kinds of situations.

    It might not do anything to change his opinion, but it certainly does feel good to remind him that his name is not preceded by the title of Doctor.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Helen, I leave them notes under their wipers — explaining my own time in a wheelchair and on crutches and how difficult – often painful – it was to get from place to place – asking them to compare that to how easy it is for THEM to walk a couple of car lengths and NOT to park in the disability slots ever again.

      I also go NUTS when somebody parks in such a way that ramps are not wheelchair accessible. THEY get notes on their windshield right in front of the driver — in lipstick. A real pain to remove!
      xx,
      mgh
      (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMORE dot com)
      ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder
      “It takes a village to educate a world!”

      Like

  • Leave a Reply

