Hot off the Press – 29th May 2017

Published May 29, 2017 by helentastic67

Hot off the Press 1

 

This weekend I’ve been considering if you went to an Elvis Convention with that many in the one room would they be Elvis’s or Elvisi? I was considering this after checking out a new show. Called Big Little Lies. It’s actually a miniseries. 7 episodes, an hour each. Sometimes a short and sweet season of something that doesn’t continue can be good. If every show I watched went on forever I would need to be much choosy about what to watch. Ok, House with Hugh Laurie could have gone on forever, but it is what it is.

Elvis Convention

Big Little Lies in short is about parenting and marriages in a small close-knit but often bitchy area. Themes include domestic violence, bullying and the balance between parenting and career. At the start I was convinced, “The Butler did it!” there is NO butler, but you watch every episode wondering what this big secret is? But the first character to raise my suspicions is guilty of something, but you have to hang in there with an open mind and you finally find out in the last 10 minutes. It’s also about Nature versus Nurture. And how woman can communicate so much with a few simple glances and woman’s intuition is a powerful force. Lastly, the one character, the protective mothers saw as a husband stealing hot chick, they all hated was the one that had the independence and sense of survival instinct and came in, saved the day and took care of business for the sake of all woman-kind.

Big little lies 1
If that doesn’t sell you on 7 hours of TV I don’t know what will. Also, ladies, don’t forget domestic violence is wrong. It’s not the answer for anything.

Also, I do not get all the running! Too much running! And so many familiar faces, too many too mention but a must watch! It’s definitely the location of where I’d want to live in a completely different reality. Very picturesque.

Also got a little Criminal Minds, Blue Bloods and, Mindy Project in this week.

Criminal MindsBlue bloodsThe Mindy Project

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yes. I’ve still been rather busy but I skipped my single girl date night film, commonly referred to as Saturday Night! To wrap up Little Big Lies.

Oh, and I should throw in Alexander Skarsgard ‘butt’ makes a brief appearance in episode 2! And no, I didn’t replay it…….if you are not familiar with Alexander think True Blood and Generation Kill. At least he is age-appropriate for a change.

Alexander Skarsgard

If you decide I’m sounding a little pervy, what I have to say is; “I’m broken! Not dead!”

And maybe because I left the house today, Aunty Christine took me out for lunch to meet her hubby I had 2 coffees! So, I’m catch up on admin, email and even managed a second comic to the smaller pile today!

Side topic; I broke my coffee pot this week. Things will be dire by hump day if I can’t come home with a new one…….big day Thursday coming with an adventure to report on next week!

Coffee machine

After great discussion from last Fridays Postcards Post I thought since it sounds like I’m not the only one who misses a good postcard found in the letterbox, to my trusted followers (You know who you are?) email me your address & I’ll send you a postcard.

Postcards

2 comments on “Hot off the Press – 29th May 2017

  • Um. . . .whoosh! This is a little too multi-topical for me right now. I am sorry to hear about your coffee pot! And I promise I’m happier reading your blog than getting a post card. Cheers!

    Like

  • Thanks for the comment. The Hot off the press post is the current post I write fresh weekly, I’m months ahead so that’s why the hot off the Press came to be. Make sure to give me a like so I know you stopped by. Cheers,H

    Like

  • Leave a Reply

