Today’s Lunch Special – 21st June 2017

Published June 21, 2017 by helentastic67

Today's Lunch

Today, I thought I’d explain why I do my foodie lunch on a Wednesday. At times, I will hibernate for a long weekend and it saves me some money. I catch up on perceived or real chores at home and try to not spend money I don’t have.

Then on a Wednesday, by the time I get out to do my standard Punchy/Stabby day. (Chiropractor/Acupuncture) its real-peoples lunch time. To avoid eating lunch at 5pm when I return home, I eat here. At my favourite cafe. (No, I’m not telling! Its popular enough!) for a month I stopped coming in desperate efforts to live without….and save some money.

The older more familiar staff here know me by name, know my medical situation and I know a little something about them. The newer, younger staff see me as a young professional. (Note; Young/Professional!) I come in, do some ‘work’, eat my lunch. Smile and wave a friendly goodbye when I depart.

The owner, Robert even stops to say hello. I have even bought in sum of my foodie treats which he appreciated. Clearly, on a home bake level but the thought and different flavour I imagine he appreciated. He told me so! He once ate one of my ginger kisses right in front of me and he genuinely liked it.

After a few days in isolation, I returned here on a Wednesday and I gather my absence was noticed. Robert came down from his office and without ignoring his business and responsibilities, he said in passing “Hello Beautiful!”  and I nearly cried.

So, the cost of lunch out is also part of my good mental health. This amazing lunch today, is a chicken and Mediterranean filo pastry thing. (Note; didn’t catch the name) with a nice little side-salad and a latte.

Chicken Filo

The cost of this tasty lunch was only $15.10.
I shouldn’t feel guilty about this should I?
And yet I’m learning some valuable lessons right now between ‘Want & Need’ & Humiliation.
Stay tuned.

Latte

Cheers,
H

5 comments on “Today’s Lunch Special – 21st June 2017

  • I think a social relationship with your fave cafe’s people is as healthy as the food you get there. Yeah, a little extravagant maybe (I have no idea how the Aussie $ compares to the US$), but hey, you’ve got it, you’re worth it! It’s very aesthetic, too!

    Liked by 1 person

  • NO guilt – you are getting a lot of bang for your mental health buck. IMHO, anyplace they call you Beautiful is worth visiting *at least* once a week if you can *possibly* work it out financially – even if that means something lighter before you return home to prepare something more.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMORE dot com)
    ADD/EFD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

    Liked by 1 person

  • Leave a Reply

