Irony

Published June 30, 2017 by helentastic67

Irony

Irony

I imagine Irony has taken on a whole new meaning since I’ve developed my disability and it’s going to require some explaining so hang tight and buckle in!

Buckle up

HACC Services provide my carers through State Funding. It subsidises the fees so instead of me paying $40.00 per hour, I only pay $2.00. I get a carer 3 – 4 days a week for an hour and on Fridays I have shopping or Homecare, it all starts to add up.

With the roll-out of the NDIS, the council still gets funding from that bucket of money, but because they will be expected to offer more hours to their clients, they would rather utilise that funding in other ways.

Like ‘Tourism’, apparently, I have no idea! Don’t ask!

tourism

That is another point for another day.

I digress, my council also has a DAC! Sorry, another acronym – Disability Advisory Committee.

It is very heavy on council staff, such as ‘Tourism’ and service providers. However, the irony is this: ‘My council loves people like me to go volunteer my time to share my opinion and input so they can better service their community.

A survey I participated in recently, tells me they are far more interested in not offending the LBTG community, than looking after the people with disabilities and when I say that I’m not meaning any disrespect to Gays (love them) Lesbians (Thespians as I like to call them), bi-sexual (yeah, I know, you just love people to work it out and when you decide, let me know), Transgenders.

LGBT

Be brave! Be who you want to be (anyone else has another opinion, you should do what’s right for you and let everyone else do what’s right for them)

Hope I adequately explain my opinion, quickly and succinctly on all those topics!

The bottom line is I don’t have time to give my time for meaningless surveys.

Survey

2 comments on “Irony

  • It’s amazing: These organizations exist to provide services. They shove their latest thing on you, appropriate or not. Then they ask you to complete a survey–and you know you’d better give nothing but sterling positive responses–or you’re out of grace. . . .

    Like

  • They are designing their services for the people they want in their community. And where they think the future funding will be. And God forbid, they offend or discriminate against someone for their sexual preforance but it’s ok to discriminate against the disabled? The correct answer is of course neither! Cheers,H

    Like

  • Leave a Reply

