Music

Published August 4, 2017 by helentastic67

Music

Music

Music that is the making of serial killers, is the term for the “On Hold” music the government agency in Australia Stupidlink (yes, that’s my nickname for them, also a much politer term than others I’ve heard) and today, I realised why this piece of music is so terribly wrong.

Music on hold

Generally, music has the power to transport us through time and space, to old memories and places and things.

But this piece of music is different and I just realised why. The piece is classical in genre and it’s got cello and violins and it’s meant to be relaxing and soothing. I imagine it’s meant to calm people while they are on hold for up to an hour, but makes it impossible for you to fall asleep.

Violin

God forbid we do something productive while on hold. But the classical music is too fast and busy. Some instruments seem much too fast, making me, for one example rather murderous!

At this point, you are probably thinking for me to Shazam, the shit out of it, the on-hold music to tell you what it is? Trust me, I just tried.

And failed….

Making me believe either Shazam only has a library of modern music (that’s an experiment for later) or they really have sped up the classical piece which I want to suggest some classical composer long since buried is rolling in his grave.

Dead composer

Any wonder the first automated voice message one hears when they call is a reminder to treat their staff with courtesy and respect. Am I the only one who does that? Actually, I must be, this is why I don’t go to my local office, I go to an office in another area, because the clientele is very obviously different. Better demographics, better educated, more respectful and I imagine many clients from 13 years ago are still going to the local Stupidlink to claim what they believe is rightfully theirs!

Respect

When I made people do work for the dole back in 2003, I had a lot of unemployed bums, who thought finishing High School was enough to set them up for life and other countless misconceptions and what life owed them.

life owes

Anyway… It’s been an hour and I’m still on hold…

On hold for an hour

4 comments on “Music

  • I’m not a fan of holding music, holding chatter, or honestly any holding pattern. I am fortunate that it’s rare that I have to wait for a human to come to the phone. Most businesses let you leave a voicemail and a human eventually returns your call. I guess efficiency is a Yank thing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  • Yank here, and I promise you we get as much music on hold as any other country – interrupted with messages attempting to upsell us on something — or the message that really irks me, “You know, you can always get a lot done on our website, ‘www.HangsYourComputerWhenYouGo dot com.’ ” (It’s especially annoying when I’m calling Tech Support because my i-net is down!!!!)

    Like you, Helen, I don’t mind being on hold if I can get some work done while I’m waiting – which I am usually unable to do because I’m distracted by their idea of customer service. At least elevator music only lasts for a few floors!!

    Funny fotos too.
    xx,
    mgh

    Liked by 1 person

  • Leave a Reply

