Week So Far!

Published October 21, 2016 by helentastic67

Week so far

Week So Far!

Monday went to a DDAC (Darebin Disability Advisory Committee) meeting as a BIM member (sorry Brain Injury Matters) and a local resident. As have recently participated in some training (VATT) Voice at the Table Training so I can attend meetings and have my opinion be heard and valued. Rather than just being a token member with a disability.

I’d be happy to go to a meeting and not feel inclined to go to a meeting and find myself facilitating. Impossible!

Board Meeting

They asked me to be a member of the DDAC! There were some ‘Service Providers’ at the meeting who are obviously concerned they won’t have a job when the NDIS (National Disability Insurance Scheme in case you missed it), gets rolled out across the North/East of Melbourne.

They like to ‘bang on’ about being there for their clients who have little independent living skills or might be intellectually handicapped, but it take me to tell that person she needs to change ‘hats’ when she’s at those meetings. She needs to put on her ‘Advocacy-Hat!’ and not be wearing her ‘Self Advocacy hat!’

advocacy-hat

People seem to go to those meetings with their ‘problems’ and there never seems to be a sharing of how to ‘problem solve’ these issues.

People don’t know how to solve them or who to go to, to fix said problems.

Anyway, left DDAC and went to have 2nd x-ray to find out what’s causing pins and needles in my right hand.

FYI That’s my good hand!

hand-x-ray

X-ray of the day was of my ‘upper back/spine/right shoulder’ (Note: despite having to go up a flight of stairs they couldn’t do the lower back x-ray at the same time. Had to book to go back Tuesday.

Had planned to ‘smash out’ the last Episode of Walking/talking Dead before Chiropractors.

Rang Darebin HACC (Home and Community Care) to arrange a Carer so I could get to 3rd x-ray and spent the next hour being bullied because people can’t read the DAMN FILE!!!

Got a migraine and was in bed by 11.30pm. When I’m in bed that early for the night, you need to consider ‘Will Helen Wake Up Dead??’

So it’s now Wednesday afternoon and I’m still feeling seedy from the migraine.

Super week so far!!!

 

2 comments on “Week So Far!

  • Is that your hand? I had an xray too, this week, of my teeth at the dentists. (He was pleased with them). Your meetings sounds like a lot of talking – about nothing?! 😉 I hope your migraine has cleared…horrible things. 🐻 💜 🎃 and that your back x rays are positive.

    Like

  • LOL no, not my hand. This barrage of X-rays proved I didn’t have a disc bulge causing the pins and needles. In commenting in real-time. Stay tuned, I’m sure I announce latest diagnosis soon. Bless for the comment. Cheers,
    H

    Like

  • Leave a comment

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.