Winter Part 1

Published December 19, 2016 by helentastic67

 

winter-1Winter!

It’s the second day of Winter in Melbourne. (Although by the time you read this, I don’t know. I’ve just sent another batch of post to my Administrator). And I don’t know what it is but the last few years Winter has taken me a little by surprise. I seem despite no longer being a size-skinny, I really feel the cold.

flannel-pjs-2

The first Winter after my “Stroke” (Stroke, but not a stroke!) I need to give up my flannelette sheets. I wear flannel pj’s in Winter and bedsox’s and flannel on flannel when trying to rollover when ½ your body doesn’t comply is like Velcro. I’d roll to my right and the top sheet would follow leaving my back to get cold.

flannel-pjs-1

I moved to my current home, a spacious unit 3 ½ years ago and the first Winter I rolled the radiator heater into my bedroom and switched it on.

I convinced myself I would only have it on at night! Then, I told myself I would only have it on, on weekends! Then, I got my next power bill!

Nearly died! Took that heater, unplugged it and rolled it back into the spare room. Haven’t used it since.

I saw an elderly gentleman on A Current Affairs program a few years ago discussing how hard it was to live on a pension. I quote him when I say “It’s heat or eat”.

heat-or-eat

It’s a horrible thought that I can’t afford to do both. I really can’t do eating disorders as food inspires me and gives me great joy to shop (Ouch $$$$) and even more to send out my texts to have people come collect my ‘treats’.

But it would seem I can’t afford to heat either.

To be completely clear, I don’t cope in Summer either! 25 Degrees C is my limit! 40 Degrees C means I stay in the lounge with the air con on! I have just officially become an old person.

too-old-1

 

2 comments on “Winter Part 1

  • Goodness, that grumpy cat’s face made me laugh!
    That’s awful having to choose between eating and heating… And, yes, many people have that dilemma here. I’m thinking that Australia’s costs are similar to Britain’s?
    Have you tried wearing an all-in-one ensemble? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  • Yes, don’t worry. I heat and eat….I’m just very poor and can’t afford an exuberant social lifestyle……..I imagine Oz and Britain do have similar costs but I haven’t done any research. And the last letter I opened before departing for Christmas in the country with my mum & sister was from my gas & electricity company telling me costs are going up on the first of Jan! Merry bloody Christmas! Thanks for the comment and good to see you back online. Cheers,H

    Like

  • Leave a Reply

